WHO AM I?

pride!
The real me.

Who am I? This is the question many of us want to find answers to but we can’t. Who am I the question that makes you stay up all night but can’t find solutions to it. This is the type of question that makes us forgot who we really are. We now live in a world where we’re afraid to live the life of who we are simply because we’re afraid of being rejected. This kind of life has depressed many, killed few and hurting a lot.

We live in a world full of illusion and it makes think that’s the truth. I have watched many series, from Home sweet Home, Twisted, Secret life of American teenager to movies like the Richest kid and the rest. I don’t know if other people are like me who get connected to these movies but have that boring life after the movie. We try to live the life of a movie in our real world. When this happens, we tend to hurt ourselves at the end because we will not get what we will be looking for in the climax.

We must rapidly begin the shift from a “thing-oriented” society to a “person-oriented” society. When machines and computers, profit motives and property rights are considered more important than people, the giant triplets of racism, materialism, and militarism are incapable of being conquered. I have always tried to fit into the society of the society until I realize I was different. When I do things that ‘society’ doesn’t accept then I think I am a loser but it wasn’t like that. I am just tired of living in a society where everyone thinks that they know you simply because they know my name. The world should try to know our story to judge our actions. Our skin colour has nothing to do with our personality, so is our religion or any other thing that matters. I don’t know but my life and that of others inspired me to write this poem;

WHO AM I?
Who am I?
I am the boy with a black skin which every negative is attributed to.
My contribution is always seen as dark and not welcomed
Who am I?
I am the girl who is seen around guys
Whom in their eyes I’m a slut and whore for turning them down
Who am i?
I am the boy in crutches
Who is fit but not fit in the society but fit for social media
Who am I?
I am the autistic man
Who everyone mistake’s for a moron
Association with me is curse
Who am I?
I am the guy who never smiles,
Not because I don’t want to but because I wear braces.
Who am I?
I am the silent student in the class,
I want to answer questions but I am shy to
Because you’ll laugh at me because I stammer.
Who am I?
I am the kid who doesn’t talk sense and seen as mad,
I do but you refuse to think outside the box
Who am I?
I am the one, who never loves,
I love than love but I don’t have a heart to love again
It was love which made me heartless not careless.
Who am I?
The unsociable dude in the community
I would love to hang around with you
But I’m seen as a problem since am an orphan.
Who am I?
I am the widow who’s afraid to wear new clothes
I’ll be seen as a witch for killing my husband.
Who am I?
The timid boy at the canteen,
I’m not but can’t deal with rejection.
I’m emotionally rejected at home.
Who am I?
The boy you always call a gay,
I am not gay but I am not circumcised.
I can’t stand the rejection of a woman.
Who am I?
The girl who turn guys away
Sorry, it’s no fault of mine
I don’t want to hurt anyone like myself
I got no feelings, for I am a FGM victim
Who am I?
I am a human with red blood
I breathe freely like any other person
Before my race, religion or education
I am a human!
See me as one before my sexuality, gender, height or occupation.
We may not reason together but respect my views.
Before you talk about me,
Please understand and love me.
Thank you for your time in reading this. Come back later for more

3 thoughts on “WHO AM I?

Kindly leave a reply