The dead also read- Letter to my dad

What is home? My favorite definition is “a safe place,” a place where one is free from attack, a place where one experiences secure relationships and affirmation. It’s a place where people share and understand each other. Its relationships are nurturing. The people in it do not need to be perfect; instead, they need to be honest, loving, supportive, recognizing a common humanity that makes all of us vulnerable.

My dad,
        It been a while since I heard from you. Frankly it been 11 good years without you around but it has been a very good journey; but would’ve been better if you were around. Hope this message finds you in good health though you’re in heaven.

By the way who has been your best friend over there? Kweku you’ve missed a lot of things which I would like to tell you. πŸ€”Did you know my Chelsea football have now won a UEFA champions League? Your real Madrid also have their 10TH cup. Ghana has also had about 5 new presidents because they complain the tenure of four years is too much so they prefer 2 years per term and Ghanaians now vote on policies not on politics?πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Do you know about selfies too? We now take pictures with our front cameras. Sad we never had the chance to take a selfie but hey dad look in the mirror and imagine me around that’s your selfieπŸ˜‰ . Dad I am very excited to let you know that I have been the 1st person to solo ride across Ghana! And my bicycle now rests at the national museum.
  From your death, I’ve also learnt many things. I thought and wish I could be bitter about humanity but that has been very opposite after all that I have been through; from rejection and negletion from those who smiled at you and told you your son had a bright future, these people tried to dimmer the light but I lit the candles. I am happy I towed your line and didn’t involve myself in any activities that could bring shame to me and your unborn generation. Nothing much has changed since my last letter to you. Out of hardships, I have had many life ideas that have made me a better person. I wish we had time to talk about things like education, my dreams, politics, my Christian faith and religious beliefs, sex life and many other things.
I have had many fatherly figures in your absence and they’ve lived up to the task and shaped your boy. I met with Mr. Hadebe yesterday after many years of being my visual  social media father from South Africa and was a great feeling.

image
My new father on left with a friend at the Independence Square, Accra

From the picture you could see I am also developing my photography skills. Very pleased to telling you that I am also working on my house at 21!

image
Things bought to build a home. Come visit anytime soon.

If I am to tell you everything I wouldn’t have much time. Would live you to rest but tell mom that I am doing an ULTIMATE C H A L L E N G E for her which I’ll also write to her on July 1st. Love you.
Regards.
RGBekoe.
Return If Possible.

image
You're still the handsome German Kru man I knew.

4 thoughts on “The dead also read- Letter to my dad

  1. very touching
    Kwesi you make I cry
    still have learnt many things from you
    keep the hard work up and God will surely reward you…………….. much love BRO

  2. Reuben… Am totally out of control after reading thisπŸ˜”πŸ˜”πŸ˜­πŸ˜”πŸ˜­πŸ˜”πŸ˜”πŸ˜­
    U are very inspirational that i look up to..
    Have been admiring your gentle moves ever since i met you on campus*SHASS
    May the Almighty richly bless you and would like to join any charitable race
    Am with Nyansapo Gh thoν ½πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜„πŸ˜€πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Kindly leave a reply

