Lest you forget

‘Oh get up and start wearing your shirt, we don’t have much time to waste.’ Calmly, she instructed. ‘You’re now a man I can be proud of my baby. Wish we can have this session again very soon.’ she continued. ‘It won’t be long sweetheart. ‘It will be only four months till I found myself in your arms again to feel your warmth. Thank you for your time and everything, I really enjoyed this session.’ I gave the assurance in an authoritative voice to calm her curiosity and insecurity. The flashback was very vivid like a Venus film productions where my old girl would be using an iPhone in 1999. I couldn’t wake up from the flashback and memories of the wonderful time I had with mom before going to school. It was taking longer like a corrupt government in office. I wish I could wake up. I knew I had messed up.
I was about 2 months away from becoming the lawyer she has always wanted me to be. Will I be that law wizard who would fight for the rights of other sinners in hell? I quizzed. I could walk in magma and still feel no pain or heat with the mess have gotten myself in. Raised by a single widow mother who is seen as a witch in the community because the love of her life died and left few possessions in her care and had only a child. She has been through hell and still in hell that’s why she invested all that she had to get me the good foundation in life so I can send her back to her heaven where she had a cup of tea and her graphic served as the bread for breakfast. Akosua Maggie had her handkerchief soaked with tears as if she used it to mob a flooded Accra as she stood beside me on my sick-bed. All she could do was to ask the doctor how long will I continue like this. The kind doctor replied, for the rest of his life. There was no hope for me to walk again and put it to my mother that God can work miracles.
I went through my junior levels in the university with no problems because I wanted to be to carpenter in the welder’s shop. I will be only required when the job is important and needed my skills. I thought after almost three years at the workshop, I was good enough to weld metals without even knowing the thickness of each metal. Maturity and ageing were two different things I never knew. My best buddy, Kwame Adinkra, was a welder and knew the thickness of every metal. We were so close that he could tell if I wore an under pants or the colour of it. “Hey Kwesi!,” he shouted, “You are not growing any younger. At the age of 23 and would-be lawyer, you don’t have to let your mother direct your path. You have to enter the world of men.” Wanting to show that I have learned a lot from them, I agreed to party with him that weekend to show I was a WELDER! At the party Kwame told me, “Man only the poor get drunk, but for us, the élite and rich, we get tipsy.” I laughed it off as I thought about what he said. Wow the thickness of South African drink, Amarula changed my system and made me laugh when it entered my system. Before it was not welcomed but I made him. Before tasting the weight of Jack Daniels, I saw my crush, Nana Yaa Asantewaa Asante Asanteniba Antwi! Mouth-full name teachers were always angry with when the father visited because he will not allow it when not mentioned in full. To boost my confident, I took 4 shot of Jack Daniels with lime and chatted with her all night as black eye peas whispered it was going to be a good night. After hours of entering the nets with our personal persons, we ‘seihor’ everywhere because we had some koene in the body to show we were the realer ‘no’. It couldn’t have ended any better without knowing the love rock because we weren’t illuminating but dancehall kings.
We hopped into the car and drove at the topmost speed that scared those who were around. For me I cared less because Yaa was busily playing with the hair on my chest as we were all tipsy. Kwame began to ask, “Kwesi, where is the law about don’t drink and drink? What about no over speeding…” he continued and I replied, “Bro they are in my back pocket, which one would you need? Ha-ha. In an attempt to reach for the ‘laws’ in my pocket I touched my phone and brought it out to look at the time, but I couldn’t see the time but saw mom on the lock screen so I decided to unlock her in mind by calling her. Akosua Maggie wouldn’t let the operator ask me if I wanted to copy her ringtone, with the swiftness in answering the phone, I thought she was playing with the phone. The tone I was talking with her and the loudness of the music in the car couldn’t let me talk much with her but all I could remember was her saying, “Awurade gye me!” (God save me.) That was the most powerful short prayer a Ghanaian mother will say for a ward going wayward. While we were talking there was a BIG BANG!
Hearings those beeps with my eyes partially closed but mind active than a German locomotive, I wanted to ask if Kwame was having problems with his blinkers and why the scent of alcohol has turn into ethanol. Charlie, unfasten my belt. But there weren’t any put the pains in my body couldn’t let me move away from the bed just as King Solomon couldn’t turn his back on Beersheba. I tried to open my eyes; I felt a sharp pain in my heart that the harp of David couldn’t cure when I saw a tear rolled down her cheek from the left eye. That shouldn’t have been a tear to bring me pain but a smile to give me strength.No one felt the pain like how no one sees the sweat of a fish , I didn’t want to die in my pain, so I began to think about the advice she gave me and asked me to wear my shirt afterwards because I ate as she advice. Proverbs 1:8-9 was where she read to me saying, “My son, hear the instruction of your father, and don’t forsake the laws of your mother; for…” I got to realize I was ageing not maturing when I recalled Proverbs 1:10 which say, “my son, if sinners entice you, does not consent.’ But I did and failed her. I wanted to put it to her that, God can work miracles, so after she had finished praying for me and getting ready to go home and bring back some food, I stood up, hugged her and said, “my love, forgive me and ask God to heal me.” With tears in her eyes, she smiled and said, “How could a lawyer forget the heavenly laws?”

THE END.

2 thoughts on “Lest you forget

Kindly leave a reply

