Letter to the President. [LEAKED]

Dear Mr. President,
For the past twenty years as a human in existence on the planet earth and geographically located in Ghana, the land which you serve or we serve you which I can’t tell for now, I have heard comments from our dear ministers and honorable [which some do not deserve to be called as such because they do not have the trait of an honorable person because they are parallel to the name] that this dear country was once on the same scale with one of Asian economic giant Singapore. Good comparison there because they lived during that era to know the state of the economy than and now. I have a very big problem when I hear that and sometimes want to get back at them but our culture doesn’t allow that, but I think it time we change the myth that the elder is always right. If a customer is always right, which the customer can be a kid or an adult, the child can be right too at times when there is justice.
Mr. President I am writing to you in the place as an educated school dropout, a youth of the nation and as a concerned citizen of the country. I am in no put to tell you how to govern the country but in my layman view of democracy, I understand that government must be OF and FOR the people so whatever you do must affect me positively which article one of our constitution states clearly. As I indicated earlier that I am an educated school dropout, I would want to draw you attention to the current system of education we have in our country, Ghana. Do you want to see a country where ‘the future’ will be sitting under the Odum tree with chin in palm sobbing for my generation? Or a future where the future of the nation will be on the streets? Or the future you will invited for commissioning of project and businesses? In my next paragraphs, I would let you know what we learn in our schools and  for yourself if we can be the Ghana you want us to be? Can we be a 2nd class Ghana?
YES! It’s good to be making comparisons with other nations to get access to our progress but it’s very bad when we compare ourselves with these 1st class countries which they also have their problems but we fail to acknowledge them. When we want to compare ourselves with these said countries, we should in everything; we should try to add education not school to the argument. I believe Singapore or Malaysia didn’t reach the height without education. Yes they built schools but that wasn’t all, the most important thing they did and most countries do is to invest in QUALITY education. Ghana is over 57 years old and the types of books we use in our schools are over 20-30 years old. With these kinds of books and the changing trend of education, how do you expect us, as a country to catch up with those countries that books are over 50 years ahead of us? I can give you an example, which is the General knowledge in Arts [GKA] textbook being used by the visual arts or the history textbooks students in high schools. Those books have nothing relevant to the current crop of arts. Does education have to be expensive? Also the kind of context these books carries makes us not think outside the box. Speaking as a history student, we have a subtopic in our books under the topic ‘COLONIALISM’ that talks about the merit of it which I see it to be very bad. For the first time I learned about that in high school, I HONESTLY had no confidence in you as a president because from how colonialism was presented and I ‘believed’ you shared same fate as the book wrote, I was thinking we should be under the British rule again but as I grew to know better it was of no importance because we still see  it important. Mr. President do you honestly think, deep in your heart that we are truly an independent country in terms of education? No we are not simply because those who are to attend these so-called government schools are not attending it so you don’t know the state of it. When I was to leave my private school [young Christian prep school] for West Ridge [Sekondi, behind regional house of chiefs] I thought I will meet children of government officials because it was a government school. My school wasn’t bad at all but what about the other schools those are not in our cities? If your ministers and my MPs will withdraw their children from these private schools and feel the pains children of these government schools go through I believe there will be a change. When these children go back to their parents and tell them that there were no textbooks or markers, or there wasn’t class today because there was overcast and the classroom was dark, there will be a change. Have you ever asked yourself why these kids from private schools are so confident as compared to us [not all] who attended your schools? The answer is very simple, the method of teaching and the textbooks they use and other things that aid in teaching and learning. I know every government try to take teachers for a ride because they are the people who sit on the last pew in our order of societal importance but mind you these paupers [as you make them look] can help cause a massive change. Everyone can learn but about how to understand is up to a teacher.
Mr. President please resource teachers, lets us have a very good educational system if not better because from what am seeing we are some miles away from better. Are you happy when the only litmus {Blue & red} paper I have ever seen was in a textbook which I can’t even find when it’s presented to me? You glad when most high school business students can’t even write a business plan or most history students can’t tell the history of the site where their schools are located, to talk about literature students, yehowa, we can’t compose a poem or an ode due to the books and the method of teaching. Are you of good feeling to know that high school students can’t prepare our local re-hydration salt, ORS? So what kind of education are we getting? I never saw Abedi Ayew Pele play or Professor Azumah Nelson box but these are our national sports heroes we don’t even learn or read about them in our schools [not at any level of education I have reached], there are many people that we read about them in our schools (under social studies) that will help change our way of thinking and inspire and motivate us. So who is a hero in Ghana?
Mr. President, I recommend, there should be integration our culture and education, the syllabus we use should be revised, the method and approach use in teaching should be improved, teachers should be adequately be resources since most of us know the things our teachers don’t know [use of internet], our classrooms should be well ventilated, we should have enough breaks to relax our minds and we should have field trips as well to know what we are learning, etc,.
Mr. President my second point of call is the limited opportunities the youths of this country have. Doesn’t sadden you heart when you hear of graduates not employed? Or do you attribute it to the program they studied at school? I don’t want to think so. How can an employer expect me to have at least two to three years of working experience before employing me while I did only 9 months of national service? Who does the employer want to use me to train me for him? This boils down to the kind of education we get where you will not know how less important your programme is unless you are out of school because back then your hands were tied behind and you are being asked to take a bit of an apple in a tread. Please come out with policies and programmes that will absorb about 30% of graduates. The youths of this country must be empowered. When someone doesn’t fit into a box, you don’t squeeze them in but you build a bigger box Mr., President. Most of our traffic lights are not working which I believe these graduated who studied software engineering and town planning can help the old folks to develop our traffic systems since most in these offices who don’t even know what a server is. You get these young people on board and there will be a progress. Do you think these countries that you visit were built by the old people? We are in a country where the youth are seen as surplus unless they excel on their own before all the big offers come to them.
Mr. President, we want equal opportunities; we don’t want to be sidelined in the progress of this nation. I can assure you that if 20% of the youth are part of policy making there will general improvement in this country. I know you are been lied to most of the time: you are not told the truth about what’s going on in the country by your subordinates because they want to lauded by you for presenting to you reports full or lies. Mr. President if you want to know the true state of the economy which I wouldn’t want to talk more about, please have time and visit our passport offices and the various embassies. If these youths leave the country then what future does your dear country have? We all know the grasses are greener on the other part of the world so I don’t except our servants [MPs] who have made us their servants to transport our few grasses that can’t even fill the Essipon stadium to the other side but bring some or those grasses from the other side to help green our country. I am drawing your attention to corrupt acts in governance. You are trying but that’s not the best, crack the whip! Bull the bull by it horn. Please try your best to bring sanity in the country and let us gain your trust again. Please I would want you to know that I have about 50 hectors of farms ranging from cocoa farm to animal farming scattered across my books from primary to high school. Don’t be surprise because we never visited a farm or anything about agric as far as agric in education is concern. I read back in 2007 that agric is the backbone of Ghana’s economy and employs about 70% of its population but is that true? I am finding it hard to believe because since that time to date we should have been the leading producer of groundnut or any cash crop if attention was paid to. I was an agric student in my 1st year in high school but I run away because it didn’t seem attractive to me and much orientation weren’t given to us. Agric can be made attractive when we have on field knowledge and we use the latest farming tools and methods on our farms. KNUST or a UCC or any graduate who studied agriculture can be on the farm to be planting with our old men and women and they can give education about the new trend of farm. These graduates can be equipped to introduce cash crops to our farms. Those business graduates can be linked up so the take account of the produce and those who matter also helps then I can agree that indeed it employs about the 70% that’s been said.
Mr. President, I know you wouldn’t have all day for me but I would want to know if you have any idea of when these lights out problems will be solved or you waiting until the day you hit your head against a wall in search of a lamp. Which I know it will not happen sooner or later. Please hear the cry of the people of Ghana and help make this place a better place for us all. You are a good man when it about promoting made in Ghana goods but don’t you think it’s time you use some of Apostle Kojo Safo’s cars [SUV] for your local rounds? That can cut cost and create employment for most of us?
Hello inquisitive reader, you and I know that this letter was not addressed to you but you have taken your time to read, ah well good but it means since you have read it hasn’t reached the addressed so please do you best to send it to the president of the republic. If there is anything you think I should have told his Excellency that I left out, don’t forget to add it up in the comment box but remember that as you do, you are ready to play your part to make this country a better place.
Reuben Griffiths Bekoe,
Matheko, Accra, Ghana.

4 thoughts on “Letter to the President. [LEAKED]

  1. Nice article. If only the prez will read. Get an editor to correct the lil hitches in there. Keep up the good works.

  2. Very great piece. Can’t say anymore about Ghana education…the more I do, the less respect I have for those schooling either in primary, secondary or tertiary. I found myself in one foreign institution for an interview… To my dismay, the chairman told me point blank “young we know you’re graduate, but your theories are too much to end you this job”. Meaning our tertiary education is virtually devoid of practical teachings, something that foreign engineering institutions esteem so high. I ll say keep on….one day the sun will shine on ur works.

Kindly leave a reply

